Search the site:

The voice of Libraries in Europe!

The European Bureau of Library, Information and Documentation Associations is an independent umbrella association of library, information, documentation and archive associations and institutions in Europe.

"Lobbying for Libraries"

Expert group on Information Law (EGIL)

Aims and goals

The mission of the Expert Group on Information Law (EGIL) is to:

  • Maintain a good awareness of legal issues that affect the provision and circulation of information, especially where libraries and archives are concerned;
  • Address the European institutions by making suggestions regarding laws, or changes to laws that would improve the legal position of libraries and archives; 
  • Cooperate and work with other organizations and institutions for these purposes. 

Guidelines for EGIL


Statements made by EBLIDA at WIPO


Members of EGIL

Chair

Jukka Relander (Finland)

Barbara Stratton
United Kingdom

Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance (LACA)

Members

Aleksandra Horvat
Croatian Library Association, Croatia
ahorvat@ffzg.hr

Annemarie Beunen
National Library, Netherlands
annemarie.beunen@kb.nl

Barbara Szczepanska
Polish Librarians Association, Poland
barbara.szczepanska@hoganlovells.com

Ben White
British Library, United Kingdom
ben.white@bl.uk

Christian Recht
Austrian Association of Librarians, Austria
christian.recht@onb.ac.at

Harald von Hielmcrone
Denmark
harald@hielmcrone.dk

Hanne Birgitte Johansen
Denmark
hjo@statsbiblioteket.dk

Harald Mueller
BID - Federal Union of German Library and Information Associations, Germany
hmueller.mpil@gmx.de

Jerker Ryden
Royal Library, Sweden
jerker.ryden@kb.se

Joseph Donelly
Ireland
joedonnelly@courts.ie

Joris Deene
Bibnet, Belgium
joris@deene.be

Kristine Abelsnes
Norwegian Library Association, Norway
mabelsne@online.no

Nuria Altarriba
Fesabid, Spain
naltarriba@bnc.cat

Oliver Hinte
Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek Köln, Officer for Legal Affairs
ohinte@uni-koeln.de

Pekka Heikkinen
National Library of Finland, Finland
pekka.heikkinen@helsinki.fi

Rosa Maiello
Associazione Italiana Biblioteche, Italy
maiello@aib.it

Uldis Zarins
National Library of Latvia, Latvia
uldis.zarins@lnb.lv

Ulrika Domellöf Mattsson
Swedish Library Association, Sweden
ulrika.domellof-mattsson@naturvardsverket.se

Zdeněk Matušík
SKIP, Czech Republic
zdenek.matusik@nkp.cz

Ex officio

Jukka Relander
Finnish Library Association
jukka.relander@lektio.fi

Vincent Bonnet
EBLIDA Director
vincent.bonnet@eblida.org


Share this  |

NEWS

  • Eblida Newsletter July/August 2016

    Eblida Newsletter July/August 2016

    14 July 2016: Stay informed about European Library & information News, EBLIDA and beyond. Read our latest Newsletter. Read more >
  • Marrakesh Treaty enters into force in less than three months' time, but Europe’s still not on board

    Marrakesh Treaty enters into force in less than three months' time, but Europe’s still not on board

    07 July 2016: Three years have passed since adoption by WIPO, yet not one European country has ratified or acceded to the Treaty. Read more >
  • Press Release: Our claim for copyright reform in Europe

    Press Release: Our claim for copyright reform in Europe

    06 July 2016: A proposal by European library and other cultural heritage organisations for concrete changes that will provide greater legal certainty for library users and for librarians. Read more >
  • Press Release: Our common future

    Press Release: Our common future

    05 July 2016: Brexit - how the British library and information organisations and institutions can protect their potential interests in Brussels. Read more >
  • Press Release: CJEU Advocate General opinion on e-lending A step forward…

    Press Release: CJEU Advocate General opinion on e-lending A step forward…

    16 June 2016: Is an e-book is a book with regard to the EU Rental and Lending Directive? The CJEU Advocate-General’s Opinion challenges some current national laws and programmes for e-lending. Read more >

Subscribe to our newsletter >